The Great British Bake Off! 

I wanted to share this with you, even though it’s tenuously linked to EYFS! 

  
This week marked the 61st birthday of my Mum in law- she’s had a pretty rubbish time recently and we wanted to show her how much she means to us! 

We arranged for her to spend the day at a local Spa with my sister in law (my hubby’s sister)  I haven’t got a sister, but if I had to choose one… I’d choose her! She’s lovely, in fact she’s the sister I haven’t got! Anyway before I get too emotional and start playing some sort of “Emile Samdè type music I’ll continue! 

Whilst the other two were off relaxing, drinking champers, and floating in flotation tanks we were knee deep in icing sugar, flour and marg! 

Wel actually that’s a bit of a porky pie… I wasn’t really knee deep in anything my gorgeous Niece’s and two kiddles were knee deep in baking paraphernalia, I just stood back and observed and casually threw in the odd “Go and wash your hands now you’ve just licked them!” 

Operation Afternoon Tea had commenced! 

They planned what they wanted to make…

  • Egg sandwiches 
  • Tuna and cucumber sandwiches 
  • Goats cheese, pesto and sun dried tomato puffs
  • Rocky road
  • Carrot cake
  • Strawberry shortcake towers
  • Scones with butter, clotted cream and jam

They met the day before, and discussed (argued mainly about who was in charge… Who was to wear the chefs hat, and most importantly who was going to create the “Happy Birthday Nana” banner) 

On the morning of the big event they popped to the local supermarket and bought the ingredients to make this spectacular feast! If I’m honest (and I’m going to be… I was a little sceptical that the plan was going to come into fruition!) how very dare I for evening thinking this for a second! The trusty foursome worked like a magnificent team of experienced pastry chefs.  

   Each child knew their role. My eldest who is a born leader and no doubt will be running the country before she’s finished liked to think she was in the driving seat. Little did she realise that my 13 year old niece was quietly but confidently keeping the troops in line by giving them each specific jobs to do, whilst keeping order but making them feel very much part of the process. She quickly realised that if she had the younger two under her feet all hell could break loose so suggested they “crack on” with the decorations! 

   
  

   

Leaving the two more experienced ones in the kitchen! 

   
   

What I saw in the next 5 hours made me a very proud mummy and Aunt and gave me that warm fuzzy feeling in my tummy! They worked tirelessly and seamlessly together in such a methodical way, each communicating with the other to get the best possible outcome. There were a couple of fraught moments along the way, and we had a running joke all day each time my youngest said “Is it time to make the sandwiches yet?” This was his job and he wasn’t about to forget it in a hurry! 

I loved the fact that they squealed with delight when the call came to say Nana would be only 10 minutes away, I loved the fact they took pride in making sure their grandmother had the best possible day, but most of all I adored seeing the people who mean the most to me making and creating memories that will last a lifetime! 

   
         

6 thoughts on “The Great British Bake Off! 

Leave a Reply

