Message in a bottle

Message in a Bottle

I’m always thinking of exciting and engaging ways to get young children to write that has meaningful purpose with an element of creativity chucked in!

Whilst out and about I happened to come across these lovely little bottles… they started my creative juices going and “EYFS Message in a bottle was created!”

Here is the plan…

  • you receive the bottles and the book “The Day the Crayons Quit”( if you haven’t seen the book yet, you will absolutely love it! I picked it up in the  bookshop this morning and was in absolute hysterics, so much so I had a couple of funny looks from various other book worms) I’m not going to say any more about the book, because I want to see where other colleagues go with it!

IMG_3098

  • Do with it what you will, read the book to your children, plan some work around it/let your children take the lead, basically anything that takes your fancy.
  • Pop a piece of work in each bottle (could be whole class, or individual) and send to the next school on the list.
  • This school will then have not only the book to read, but also some great and inspirational work from the school before. The “message in the bottles” will have a page of their own on here, where I will be posting ALL of the work, ideas and experiences your children have had with the book and the bottles. (Please ensure you have permission before posting images of children)

IMG_3085

IMG_3097                                                                        IMG_3086

How to get involved?

  1. Email me with the address you would like the “Message in the bottle” package to come to (eyfsmatters@aol.co.uk)
  2. Once you receive the bottles and book, take photo’s, video’s of anything (absolutely anything) that your children produce using the “Message in the bottles” stimulus.
  3. Send this fab work to me, so I can add it to our pages to share with the world!
  4. You might like to add your school name and class to the front of the book
  5. Send the bottles on their next adventure containing a message from your children to the next. Please be as creative as you like (You will need to check with me where to send them to!)

IMG_3087

So what are you waiting for?  Don’t forget to email me, so I can add you to the list!

Let’s get our children writing x

12 thoughts on “Message in a bottle

  1. Hi 🙋

    This is such a gorgeous idea! I love The Day the Crayons Quit and have been trying to think of a good way to use it with my Reception kids. I used it last year with Y1/2 and they loved it.

    It would be great if you could add me to your list.

    Mrs Becca Clarkson Masham CE Primary School 1 Millgate Masham North Yorkshire HG4 4EG

    Many thanks Becca 🌺🐝 (very excited!!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Please would you add our Reception classes to the list. We are a three form entry primary school and would love the chance to take part in this exciting writing project. Thank youx
    Foxfield Primary School
    Sandbach Place
    Woolwich London SE18 7EX

    Like

    • Hi There,
      Thank you for your comment. Of course I can, please could you email me as it’s easier to have a list on my emails so I know which order to send them in. (does that make sense?) Best regards
      Eyfsmatters

      Like

Leave a Reply

