Writing table or no writing table? That is the question

Recently we took the brave decision to take away our writing table… Eeekkkkk!!! This took lots of thought, lots of conversations between all of the staff in our setting, chatting to the children and tbh a couple of sleepless nights!
I observed who was going to the writing area, what they were doing there, and asked myself if a) they could do this elsewhere if I made provision for it and b) how much development was being made!
The answer to my findings prompted me to decide that my children could and should be writing in every area of our setting. This didn’t just mean clipboards in the construction area!! I then set to, to create writing/mark making opportunities in every area of our setting. I want to create an ethos where all writing is celebrated, is naturally occurring and evolving through engagement and enjoyment! Here are a few examples of the things we’ve changed.
If I ask my children where they can write, their reply is always…. EVERYWHERE!!! 

mark makingpaper area writing in construction writing tubes

2 thoughts on “Writing table or no writing table? That is the question

  1. Brilliant as were packaway setting we do have a designated writing area during winter months but I noticed it not being used so now we’re into summer set up we won’t have one so we use trays and tuff spots and clipboards in all areas and outside the children seem to love laying on the floor to mark make

    Like

Leave a Reply

